Call Council Office 08 8083 8900

National Parks

Sturt National Park

About The Park

The Wangkumara Aboriginal people, who travelled widely throughout this arid land, were sustained during times of drought by waterholes and permanent soaks. With the development of pastoral leases and establishment of government reserves, the Aboriginal people were shifted further east along the Darling River. The first Europeans to explore the area were a group led by Charles Sturt after whom the park is named. Shepherds ventured out this way when conditions where favourable, but it was the discovery of gold in 1880 which attracted 3000 people to the 'Granite Diggings'.

Sturt National Park was established in 1972 to protect a portion of this unique area and to provide opportunities for people to explore this part of the state. Poor results, harsh conditions and disease saw the gold rush peter out by 1890's, but the infrastructure had been established at Tibooburra to allow pastoralism to expand 'into the corner'. For more information.

Camerons Corner

The point at which Queensland, NSW and South Australia meet is a great place to see 'The Dog Fence', the longest fence in the world. It takes about two hours to drive the 140km form Tibooburra to Cameron Corner. Along the way you'll pass by Forte Grey where Sturt's party built a stockade to protect their supplies and stop their sheep wandering. A walking track near the camping area will enable you to explore the surrounding dunes and flood plain country.

Mutawintji National Park

About the Park

Mutawintji National Park is the tribal area of the Malyankapa and Pandjikali people. Aboriginal people have been utilising the abundance of natural food and water resources at Mutawintji Historic Site was the place where initiation, rainmaking and other ceremonies were held. Over 1,000 people might then gather at the site, camping in relation to the direction in which they came. The frequency of these ceremonies relied heavily on seasonal climate conditions. Many examples of rock engravings, stencils and paintings exist in the surrounding ranges.

Today, Aboriginal people from around the region still gather to hold meetings for cultural purposes. The NPWS recognises that members of the Mutawintji Land Council, mostly based in Wilcannia and Broken Hill, are the traditional owners of Mutawintji National Park and have involved the land council in joint management of the park since 1983.

In September 1998, Mutawintji National Park was formally handed back to its traditional owners. A Board of Management has been set up to oversee operation of the park. For More Information.

Kinchega National Park

About the Park

Kinchega National Park was once part of the Kinchega - Kars pastoral lease held by the Hughes family since 1870. At its greatest, the property extended from Menindee to Broken Hill and covered an area of over 800,000 hectares.

In 1967 the Kinchega section of Kars lease was dedicated as a national park. The park now covers an area of 44,000 hectares. The last shearing was held in the woolshed in 1967 when the 6 millions sheep was shorn as part of a ceremony dedicating the park. For More Information.