Call Council Office 08 8083 8900

West Darling Arts

The West Darling Arts region of NSW encompasses an area of 176,000 square kilometres of semi-arid lands and is known for the Barrier Ranges, and the Baaka/Darling River which flows through western NSW to join the Murray River at Wentworth. The region embodies the trope of the Great Australian Outback with wide open spaces, blue skies, spectacular National Parks, red desert and rolling sand dunes, the Baaka/Darling River, rich Indigenous culture and history and an abundance of wildlife.

The region comprises three Local Government Authorities and the Unincorporated Areas of NSW:
• Broken Hill City Council – 17,000 population.
• Central Darling Shire Council – 2,000 population. (The area includes Wilcannia, Menindee, White Cliffs, Ivanhoe)
• Wentworth Shire Council – 8,000 population. (The area includes Wentworth, Pooncarie, Dareton, Buronga, Gol Gol)
• Unincorporated Area – 700 population. (The area includes Silverton, Tibooburra, Milparinka). Note: this area is administered by the NSW Department of Lands and it is only one of only two areas in NSW that are not part of any local government area.

Significant opportunities exist for tourism, taking advantage of the unique outback experiences, dynamic communities, as well as Indigenous culture. The region has some of Australia’s most significant Indigenous artefacts, many of which are among the oldest in the world. Emerging opportunities in unique tourism, arts and cultural opportunities set this outback region apart. Combined with the Menindee Lakes and the internationally recognised Willandra Lakes Region World Heritage Area, these opportunities will increase investment and grow visitor numbers. (Information from the West Darling Arts website)